KHU at a Glance

email print

Kyung Hee University was founded in 1949 by Dr. Young Seek Choue, whose founding philosophy was “Toward a New Civilization.” Since its founding, the University has established an academic tradition combining education, research and practice while pursuing the universal values of peace and mutual prosperity. Some of its major landmarks include spearheading the Global Common Society Movement, establishing the International Association of University Presidents, initiating the United Nations International Day of Peace, receiving the UNESCO Prize for Peace Education, organizing the 1999 Seoul International Conference of NGOs, holding the World Civic Forum in 2009 and co-hosting the UNAI-Kyung Hee International Symposium in 2011. Moving toward the betterment of future civilization, Kyung Hee University plans to further strengthen its status as one of the most prestigious universities in the world.

Facts & Figures:

  • 3 campuses: Seoul, Global(Yongin), Gwangneung
  • 23 colleges, 95 departments and majors, 6 professional graduate schools, 9 special graduate schools and 49 affiliated research institutions
  • 32,854 undergraduate and graduate students, 1,452 full-time professors
  • Kyung Hee University Medical Center, the world’s only institution that combines Western and Oriental medicine
  • Credit transfer and student exchanges with 523 partner universities of 77 countries